New to forum and i need some help

Username: Scottyw

Canada

Post Number: 1
Hi everyone, I'm new to here and im sure glad there is a place like this. There is a ton of info here. I'm kind of new to the whole home theatre business, but i do know a bit i guess, but i'm having a problem. Here it is....

I have a Denon 485S AVR and I wish for everything to go through the reciever, so i don't have to keep switching the video on my TV remote. I have a Sony 50' LCD Rear Projection 50WE620 I believe.

I have been able to get my DVD which is also a Denon (component /monster video2), My Satellite reciever (RCA/no component available), and my PS2 (Monster RCA). However i still have to switch videos to use my DVD as my DVD has component video directly into TV on seperate video (eg. 4) and my PS2 and Sat are on video 5. my receiver is currently on video 5 via its (RCA monitor out). I have sound when i switch my receiver to DVD, so the issue is the video, and obviously i have none because its on a seperate video source from everything else as i have said.

I thought I could solve this problem and i bought another monster video2 cable. I ran my current cable from my DVD out to my DVD in on my reciever, and ran the new monster cable from my component video on my TV to my component monitor out, and still I have no picture.

I can't figure out what is wrong, is there possibly a setting i have to adjust, I have been trying for a few days now and have had no success, so any help or advice that anyone can give would be awesome right about now.

I just want to be able to use one remote and be able to switch through everything on my Denon AVR.
As my reciever has RCA, S-video, and component monitor out. I thought all i would have to do is use a comp. vid cable from my AVR to my TV...viola would be able to switch through everything via my AVR.

again this is how i'm currently setup....

On video5...
DVD video to direct TV (component)
DVD audio via optical input to AVR

On video 4...