Where should I place my speakers

Username: Clintonj747

Issaquah, WA US

Post Number: 1
I purchased a surround sound system this week and I need to figure out the best for my rear speaker locations. I have included a diagram of my living room with furniture. I am a novice in wiring but I'm not affraid to go for it.
So here are my issues:
1) my sectional is right against the wall
2) my ceilings are 10 feet high
3) my room is aprox 14x14
4) I'm a novice yet I don't want wires showing

Does anyone have a sugguestion?
Thanks in advance for all your help.

application/pdfUpload
SurroundSound.pdf (14.0 k)

Bronze Member
Username: Dxjnorto

Saint George, Utah USA

Post Number: 14
Clint,

You have to put the wires up in the attic if you don't want them showing. You can buy a very long drill bit to do this. They are about six feet long and flexible. I think they cost about $45 or so. You drill a hole in the wall where you want the speaker and then aim for the attic. It [the drill bit] has a little hole in the end where you can drag a string or something down to pull the wire through.

Another thing that is not immediately obvious is the roof pitch may prevent you from inserting the wires where you want them even if you put a hole there if you can't reach the hole you drilled. If that is going to be a problem, there are various wire covers you can buy at Home Depot that thread over the wire to attach them to the wall in a more cosmetic manner.

I have the same problem as you. I have a sectional that is against the wall opposite the entertainment center. I just put my rear surrounds on the back wall about seven feet above the listening position or "sweet spot" and about twelve feet apart. It seems strange because they are very close to my left and right surrounds.

I installed my left and right surrounds so the tops measure five feet from the floor facing the listening position. They say to put them higher, but I like them lower.