Help - No Surround Sound and No Video

Username: Em69

Post Number: 5
Help Needed...I'm about to give up.

Just when I thought I had it all set up properly, it still won't work.

Components:
DVD player
Receiver
TV

Simple set up you would think, but I am not technically inclined.

I have a the S-Video cable running from the DVD player to the TV.

I have a Digital Coax running from the DVD player to the receiver.

I also have the RCA cables running from the DVD player to the receiver.

Problem:
I am not getting surround sound, nor am I able to get video on the TV when playing a DVD.

When I disconnected the Digital Coax, the sound is not even affected, so clearly the Coax wasn't doing anything for me.

The typical default setting for most TVs is to have it set on channel 3 or 4 to watch videos or DVDs, but for some reasons, this does not appear to work with this set up.

Any comments would be appreciated as I'm ready to give up.

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 2832
If you have an S-Video cable running from the DVD player to the TV, you don't need to set the TV to channel 3 or 4. Go to the video button on your TV and switch through the different video inputs. Look at the input panels of your TV and determine if you are hooked in to Video 1 or Video 2, etc. Then set your TV on that input.

You only need to use the channels if you are using an RF modulator.

For surround sound, use the Digital outputs of your DVD player, it could either be optical or coaxial(usually clor coded in orange). Connect this to your receiver that can accept these type of inputs.

Set up your DVD to output digital or DTS. Go to the DVD player main menu and select audio. From here you will be able to get different selcetions.

Check your manual for all your equipment. It will help you out more than you think.

Post Number: 6
Thanks for your reply Bernie.