6.1 surround setup - yamaha htr5740 receiver

Username: Cyberpac9

Post Number: 4
ok, here's what i have (everything works):
Mitsubishi wd-52525, yamaha htr5740 receiver, jbl SCS160SI 6.1 surround sound (and other equipment).

because of the shape of my room, etc, i'm limited to the placement of my television and speakers. my television is in a corner, directly under my Left Front speaker. i have the Center speaker on top of my television. (i have an image, but had trouble uploading it - but i can provide an image of my layout.)

now, since i'm new to surround sound i don't know all the specifics about it. thus, when i watch TV i don't know if i get the quality i should expect. i get most of my dialogue out of my center speaker and other sounds out of my other 5 speakers - although the front 2 speakers are louder than the 2 surround and back center speaker. is this normal, or do i need to make adjustments? should all 6 speakers produce about the same amount of sound? or should i get dialogue out of the center and EQUAL amounts of sound out of the remaining 5?

a second question i have is in regards to my receiver - yamaha htr5740. the receiver has alot of programmed sound fields - TV Theater, Movie Theater, Dolby Digital, DTS, Pro Logic, Pro Logic II, Pro Logic IIx, jazz, rock, etc. is there a general sound field (or automatic) to be selected, or when i change between the radio/cd's, TV, DVDs, do i have to change the sound field every time? i'd like the best sound all the time and not have to fool with it each time i switch between different connections.

any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated!

Username: Sampson

Post Number: 1