Need advice on Sherwood Newcastle R863T receiver...

Unregistered guest
I am new to this home theater stuff, and am in the process of putting a system together. I have ordered Phase Technology's Velocity system speakers, using a pair of V-12 towers, a V-6 center, two V-surrounds, and a H1200 12" Subwoofer (250 watts). I found what i think is a good deal on these new ($1725 for everything) with MSRP of $2300. I am looking at running these with a Sherwood Newcastle R863T receiver, that has 6x100. Will this be enough to power these speakers, and is this a good match? I found a good deal on the receiver, and am trying to determine if they'd work well together. Thanks for the help......

Silver Member
Username: Elitefan1

Post Number: 842
Have you listened to this combination? I heard a Phase Tech system last year and did not care for it at all and if memory serves me it seemed on the bright side. There are no Sherwood dealers anywhere near me but I just read a review in HT mag and got the impression it was also a bit bright. Off hand I don't think that would be the best combination. I could be wrong and if you have heard them together and liked it then buy it but you might consider a warmer receiver.

Unregistered guest
Sorry for the ignorance, as I'm new to this stuff, but what do you mean by a "warmer" receiver vs a "bright" receiver?

Silver Member

Post Number: 850
Buy bright I mean an overemphasis on the upper frequencies and mostly characterized by vocal sibilance which can be noticed by a annoying ssss everytime someone uses a word with s in it. Most bright receivers also tend to sound thin and detailed which I don't care for but with the right speakers is not that bad. Yamaha and Denon are the best example's of this. Warmer brands are Marantz, H/K and Elite being maybe the warmest. Again I must ask if you have heard the Sherwood and Phase Tech's together or seperately or what?