R questions about ceiling speakers, home theater, etc...

Scott M
Unregistered guest
I know I am a complete novice when it comes to this stuff, but after reading several posts and not recognizing many of the terms or brand names used, I am feeling even more lost! (end disclaimer)

Here's my situation... We moved into a new house that we had prewired for sound (6.1 surround in the family room and two speakers in 2 additional rooms, as well as the patio, each w/volume controls). The builder was trying to sell me their Speakercraft system (AIM-3's for the surround sound and CRS-1's for the other rooms). I wasn't prepared to spend nearly $5K on it at the time, so I opted only for the prewire. Almost two years later now, I'm getting around to completing my system. I have a Sony STRDE-995 receiver (sorry if I offended anybody by using the "S" word here) that is capable of 7.1 surround at 100 watts per channel.

Initially I was going to put in VERY inexpensive ceiling speakers with the thought of upgrading at a later time if I chose to and I'm almost embarrassed to admit that I've even bought several pairs of speakers on ebay for that purpose... They're Audiosource IC8S's which I've purchased for around $45-50/pair. I further rationalized this by telling myself that since I am such a novice, my ears are probably not as discriminating as a true audiophile's, so I probably wouldn't be able to notice a difference.