CD/DVD Player to go with Onkyo TX-DS-696

Username: Rollufie

Post Number: 1
I am currently building up a new audio system and am wondering if it necessary renew my old CD player and dvd players for a new one with better audio quality. As I am quite new in hifi-world, I could use some advise on this subject. The questions below might be quite basic, sorry for that.

My setup is:
* Onkyo TX-DS-696 receiver
* Mission 780 speakers
* Philips DVD-761 DVD Player (3 years old)
* Sony basic cd player CDP-411 (10 years old), connected optically to receiver

1. If a digital cable from the CD or DVD player to the receiver bypasses their DAC's and uses the Onkyo (receiver) DAC, does that mean there is less difference in audio quality between seperate CD players and DVD players?

2. If 1. is true, would that mean I do not need to buy a new DVD/CD player and that more expensive players do not have any advantages for audio playback? What would then justify the difference between a 500 EURO player and a 1500 euro one??

3. Looking at specifications, what are the parameters to look at and to compare between diffent players

4. If a new player is recommendable, what would you advise. If am thinking about a Onkyo/Denon one in the 500 - 800 EURO range. How would you connect this one to the receiver?

I know it's a lot of questions, thanx in advance for your help!

Username: Gman

Post Number: 86
#1--Depending on the DVD or CD player you should be able to get to the menu and not use the players DAC and use the receivers DAC. The same is for the receiver menu--you open up the menu and either use it or not for playback.

As I haven't looked at your models, you will either have to read the manuals or open the menu's and see if these procedures can be done. Often on older player they don't have this flexibility--but you will never know until you read the manual or try and open the menu.