H/K AVR430 has some weirdness

Anonymous

I have tried for the last 3 days to set my reciever/speakers/DVD player up and I am getting really irritated. First issue is that for some reason the reciever when I have my DVD player on it switches back from optical to analog continuosly. I have optical going from dvd player to reciever and component cable to reciever. 2nd issue is that the dvd player doesn't work. I have S-Video going from my reciever to the tv. Is this right? I'm a novice at all this.. Thanks for any help guys!

Unregistered guest
Hi there- first off never put anything on top of your receiver. The main reason is that it needs proper ventilation so that it can cool down. The way I prefer Is Receiver on left and dvd on right or the opposite. Next I would say that the S video may also need to have the input & output cables hooked up also.

Bronze Member
Username: Stone

West CoastUSA

Post Number: 83
My H/K reciever will give a blue screen unless the S-Video goes through the imput output on the receiver. I do not understand your anolog/optical issue. I have both the optical and anolog going from the DVD to the reciever and am able to switch back and forth between the two. You might need to check how the DVD player is set up. When does it switch? During video or audio playback?

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 1313
Is there anything else hooked up to the video input of the TV?
On the Video input side, you will have different options on what type of input to use, Composite, S-Video and sometimes component video, you can only hook up one type of video input in one of these banks, although it may seem like it can take in 2 or 3 different kinds all at the same time.

Bronze Member
Username: Awj53

West Sacramento, CA USA

Post Number: 12