HK Avr130 vs Nad T742/741

Phils
Unregistered guest
I'm a ht newbie about to make my first receiver purchase. I have initially narrowed down my choices between the HK 130 and Nad 742 both of which cost the equivalent of around $360 here in the Philippines. I am leaning towards the 742 mainly due to various posts I've come across. However the Nad dealer offered me the 741 for about $100 less the difference being no DPLII and a few pounds lighter (based on specs from Nad) compared to the 742. The receiver will be used for 50/50 music/movies in a 15'x18' room with either PSB Image 1B or Monitor Audio B2 bookshelf speakers and no plans of going beyond a 5.1 setup.
I would appreciate any inputs from anyone especially those with actual experience comparing/auditioning these three receivers.
Thanks a lot in advance.

Silver Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 537
I would forget the T741, it's old and not that good by current standards. The T742 and AVR130 are both nice, if you go with the T742 then get the PSB's, if with AVR130 then the Monitor Audios.

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 1221
The 741 is no slouch, however, as landroval said, it is already on its way to being obsolete, hence the emergence of the 742. But given a choice I will go with the 742 and get either PSB or MA. You have to audition both speakers extensively to make a good evaluation, after all you will be listening to them.
Ayos ba?

Anonymous

Phils

Both receivers are good.Last month I auditioned HK 230 and NAD T743. I own B&W 601 s3 and MA B2.Using both speakers mentioned, to my ears, the HK has a strong punch but the NAD is more detail, clean and with tight bass but not as strong as the HK. I got the NAD but you have to audition both of them maybe you will like HK better.

BTW Who are the dealers of NAD and HK in the Philippines? I used to live there before migrating to Canada ( sorry for my grammar, still learning good english)

Anonymous