Adcom/Outlaw/Rotel

Username: Hteac

Post Number: 1
I had the message below under Home theater.
This is probably the right place:

I'm a newbie who's trying to setup a HT and I was hoping you guys could help.

Size of room: 21x24 and height is 9'

Use: 50% music and 50% movies
I'm looking at the following setup:

B&W 2x703 front
B&W 2xDS7 surr.
B&W HTM7 center
HSU VTF-3 Sub
Adcom 7807 - 300Wx7 or 7607 - 125Wx7 Multichannel Amp or Outlaw 770 -200Wx7
Adcom GTP-860II preamp or Outlaw 950

Need advice on which equip. will give me the most bang for my buck and will sound nice and warm too as this is a big investment and I don't want to get into trouble with the wife.

I went to a B&W dealer today and he's recommending
Rotel 1066+ 1095. He had Paradigm speakers there that also sounded good. Now I'm even more confused as there's a huge difference in price btw the 2 brands.
Help please.

Thanks

Username: Heff

Post Number: 32
Aloof, u are in the right place!
If price is no object, I vote for Rotel with Outlaw/Adcom/Marantz tied for second. Rotel looks very nice, and if Santa was giving these away to the naughty/nice, you'd have a memorable Christmas indeed!

Bang/buck - wise, both Outlaw and Adcom are great choices. I'll suggest the Marantz MM900's too since i've seen it offered $699.99 delivered from authorized e-tailer.

Username: Gman

Post Number: 16
I haven't even seen any reviews or heard these B&W models yet. They must be a recent release--and rather expensive too. I don't mean this to be crude, but can you give me a ballpark figure on the B&W speakers? Also wanted to know if you compared them to anything else in that price range.

I'd get the Outlaw 950 and either the 5 x 200 watt or 7 x 200 watt Outlaw amp. Depends if you ever plan on getting 2 more speakers if you want the 7 channel amplifier. The only advantage Rotel may have is that it costs a heckuva lot more for comparable gear and it looks nicer. It certainly won't sound any better.