Adcom vs Outlaw

Anonymous

HAWK, G-Man, All,

I'm in th process of setting up my HT and I'm a newbie so I was hoping you guys could help.

Size of room: 21x24 and height is 9'

Use: 50% music and 50% movies
I'm looking at the following setup:

B&W 2x703 front
B&W 2xDS7 surr.
B&W HTM7 center
HSU VTF-3 Sub
Adcom 7807 - 300Wx7 or 7607 - 125Wx7 Multichannel Amp or Outlaw 770 -200x7
Adcom GTP-860II preamp or Outlaw 950

Need advice on which equip. will give me the most bang for my buck and will be nice and warm too as this is big investment and I don't want to get into trouble with the wife.

Thanks.

Username: Project6

Post Number: 17
given the hard choices that you have...I will go with the best deal. They both have excellent power supplies and an equally formidable build quality, I will go with the one that is lower in price. I was faced with that dilemma a few months ago and went with the outlaw 7100 power amp as opposed to the Adcom. Weighing everything I went with the Outlaw because I thought it looked better with all things being equal.

Personally, I would go with the Outlaw audio because that is what I have...so there is bias there.
cheers

Anonymous

Thanks Berny.
I went to a B&W dealer today who also sells Rotel.
He recommends Rotel 1066 + 1095.
This just doesn't get any easier.

Username: Heff

Post Number: 31
Anon - Both Outlaw and Adcom are great. Rotel looks very nice, but won't give you the same bang/buck esp. if you are on a budget.

I'll suggest the Marantz MM900's too since i've seen it offered $699.99 delivered from authorized e-tailer.

Username: Bebaumax

Post Number: 4
Denon and Marantz are both owned by the same company, and I would buy from neither at this point in time. Adcom is now all trash, in my opinion, they've been bought/sold and torn up too many times in the recent years. Rotel or Outlaw would be a good choice, although I'm recently not much of a fan of the RSP-1066 (see my post in the Receivers forum). Just my opinions, guys.