Now what???

Lp
I just bought a spl meter and DVE tune up disc. Now what? How can I calibrate my lil AR 108S sub. I scan through the DVE disc. How can I adjust or tune up my lil sub. What is the best way to do it? As you can see I am a newbie of all newbies :) Help me... I want my sub to go as low as it can handle. Thanks in advance!

Lp,

Derek
Start by using the test tones in your receiver to set your 5 speakers to the same level. If you are lucky your receivers will also produce a 6th tone for the sub. Remember to set the meter to its flat or "C" weighted setting. This will get you in the ballpark. It's best to do this close to where your ears would be. That's usually the back cushion of the couch, not in your lap where you can see the meter. Use the receiver's per-speaker level controls to set the speakers to exactly the same level.

At the receiver set your speakers to "Small" and set the sub output to "Sub-Only" - not "Both" or "Main+Sub". Now turn your sub's power off. play Tittle 10, Chapter 4. This is just for demonstration purposes. You shouldn't hear anything at first and the meter shouldn't move, at first. Then in the mid-bass your should start hearing something.

Now turn the sub on. Set the sub's cross-over to it's lowest frequency (probably 50Hz) and listen to the 15Hz-300Hz test again. This time you should hear nothing and slowly a lot of deep bass. Set the sub level control so that this bass is the same level as the rest of the speakers - you may have to restart the chapter a few times. You have just set the approximate sub level.