Project Debut iii Help

Username: Vpayne

Post Number: 1
Hi there,

Apologies if I sound like an ignoramus with the following descriptions. My dad is the vinyl expert and has essentially provided all my equipment and upgrades over the years but he lives a few hundred miles away so can't help!

I am having a few issues which I assume are related:
1) sound is flat (getting worse over time)
2) turntable sometimes spins backwards when I switch on
3) motor sometimes makes a very gentle but clearly 'not-right' buzzing/whirring sound.

When the problems first started I replaced the turntable drive belt as mine seemed slack. Having fitted a new one this was definitely the case - the new one was much tighter. However it didn't fully resolve the issues and having looked today, the new one also seems to have slackened (4 months on)

I wondered if the issue was the actual motor suspension belt - I'm no expert but it also seems slack, and the position of the motor does not seem to be 'central' it's definitely pulling in. I figured if this is dodgy it might explain the problems, and be the reason the drive belts are stretching quickly?

I bought a new motor suspension belt then realised the whole turntable needs to be dismantled, as if replacing the motor, in order to fit it. I'm not stupid enough to attempt this myself (!) so I'm waiting for my dad to visit next month.

Wondered if anyone had any advice. If it seems, based on your thoughts, like I'm going to need other 'parts' then I'll buy these before my dad visits. I don't want him to come and have a go, be unable to fix it because we need to order something, then have to wait another 6 months for him to visit and finish the job!!

Thank you for your time, thoughts much appreciated.