Focal 726v and b&w 683 - denon 1510 amp

Username: Crystalarts

Post Number: 1
Hi there I am new to the hi fi world and recently picked up a denon amp 1510 due to it being last one in Dubai and only other options being cheap amps or amps out with my price range.

So I tested it with the following speakers (not many options here) all costing about 900 gbp

Focal 726
Klipsch r82
Wharfedale evo2 40

I used the following songs as tests :

Brighton rock, queen
Battle of Evermore, led zep
Larks tongue in aspics pt 1, king crimson
Stockholm syndrome, Muse
Always driving in same car, bowie

Anyway side by side comparison the 726 came out on top big time, there was a sense of urgency with them and not too much bass and not too little (wharfedale had none whilst klipsch too much) . The 726 whilst bassy never lost the detail and soundstage was impressive. It just wowed me.

Now I am keen on getting them however before I do so I want to test b&w 683 speakers. Unfortunately I can't test them with my amp only a rotel. I plan on checking it out this week.

My room is 6x4m however it leads onto another room of 6x4m and the open area is large enough that you could call the room a 6x8m room.

Tiled floor and windowed wall on the full 4m side of the wall in both rooms. Hard concrete walls too.

So I was wondering about the focal and b&w...

1. Are 600 series and 700's similar standard? Ie are they comparable or are the 800's closer to the 600 series? I know that focal are more expensive for what u get due to higher cost of manufacturing in France vs china (600 series)
2. Main difference between b&w vs focal sound? What can I expect when I finally hear the 683?
3. Difference between denon 1510 sound and rotel 1520 sound? Since I want to be able to consider amp effect on 683 when I listen to it.
4. A room such as I described... 683 maybe a better option since it comes with plugs? Manage bass better...?
5. Any other thoughts?