Just a long Shot... Digital Convert to Analogue via phono

Username: Jgrayonline

London, Acton UK

Post Number: 2
Hi All,

I know this might be a bit of a long shot but I've got an old 5.1 surround system that uses phono as front left/ front right, cent,sub, rear left/ rear right.

And now I'm upgrading most of my computers and Monitors to HD as I work as a Freelancer Sound, Camera, Editor.

I'm looking for a digital converter that would take one optical digital line and convert it to an analogue 5.1 phono or jack.

So it would go

IN - Digital optical

Digital to Analogue converter

OUT - Phono/Jack - FL/FR
Phono/Jack - C/S
Phono/Jack - RL/RL

Any answers and messages are greatly appriciated.

Kind regards
James Gray
info@jgrayonline.com

Gold Member
Username: Superjazzyjames

Post Number: 1237
Are you saying the turntable is 5.1 channels or that the receiver will put sound from the tt into all 5 speakers and the sub? I never heard of a 5.1 turntable and highly doubt such a thing exists or ever did.

What exactly are you trying to do?

Gold Member

Post Number: 1238
Or are you talking about phono/rca jacks as speaker outputs?

Gold Member
Username: Hawkbilly

Nova Scotia Canada

Post Number: 1183
I'm assuming by phono you mean RCA ? If so, what type of receiver do you have ? If you use the optical in on most receivers, it will use the receivers internal dac and output 5.1 to the speakers. You don't need to do an external d-to-a conversion and then go analogue in. I may be misunderstanding what you are trying to do though.

Gold Member

Post Number: 1239