Dealer Recommended System for a Newbie

hi all,
i am a really green newbie. a dealer is trying to sell me the following system for a 11x17 room. any comments or opinions would be HUGELY appreciated. thank you very much ...
--- JVC RX-7030VBK
--- JVC DVD XV-N44SL
--- MNC CUBE SPEAKERS
--- JBL S-CENTER
--- JBL SUBWOOFER PB-10
all to go with a HITACHI LCD TV 50V500A

Hawk
Green:

Do you actually like this system? That is the key--get a system that you will enjoy listening to it. Otherwise what is the point? If you like the sound a lot and it is in your budget, I say get it.

It is not, however, what I would choose. What is your budget?

Hawk -

thank you SO much for responding!

i live in a VERY remote area. the store is 2 hours drive from here and very small. i have not listened to the setup at all.

the last time i bought a receiver was when Carver came out with his first one. i do not currently have a surround sound system at all. everything i have is very old and outdated.

if i wasn't working 7 days a week and if i had the time, i probably would gravitate toward becoming a real audiophile. i seem to be ultra sensitive to sound and vision/color. i am constantly fussing with controls to try to get things "right." i seem to be very sensitive to lack of separation and muddy sounds. but i am also sensitive to overly bright, as well as thin/tinny sound.

so i'm putting my old mitsubishi 43" out to pasture (the picture quality has really weakened) and i'm finally going to surround sound.

budget-wise, i do not want to splurge. but at the same time, am willing to pay enough not to hate/regret my purchase. i'm looking for a price point that is "good enough" as opposed to the best currently available, but yet one that will be acceptable to my ear.

so i am wondering about the quality of what this dealer recommended -- is it real low-end stuff that i likely will hate ? or is it average and probably good enough for primarily HT use ?