Anyone DJ Here??

Username: Itsamemario

Post Number: 1
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum.

I am thinking about DJing on the side just to make some extra money. I have never done this before but I don't think I need to be a rocket scientist to do this. I will be catering only to events for family and friends (maybe go outside later).

I will not be using turntables as i don't have a need for them. Instead i wish to use my Laptop (macbook). I have other laptops as a means for backup just incase something goes wrong with the initial setup.

OK - now I am looking for equipment. Everyone here seems extremely knowledgeable and I'm sure you will be able to help me in some way. I don't have any equipment chosen out yet. I'm assuming all I need is an amp, speakers, wiring, stand, lighting, etc. However, I am not sure if i need a mixer or any other component as the laptop will have software which will take care of all the mixing and cueing for me. I believe i will also purchase a CD player also to act as a backup.

I don't have an exact budget as I don't know how much everything 'should' total out to. I have done a lot of research and have seen people recommend JBL and some other speakers starting from $499 a piece to $999 a piece. Is that something with crappy quality or will this budget get me something great? The CD player can be around $200. I don't know about the amp but i am open to all suggestions.

If i had to have a budget - i would guess around $2500? Seems fair? Too low?

I appreciate all for your assistance. Also, if i am posting in the wrong place, please do direct me to the proper section. Thanks guys

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 3933
The powered JBLs seem to be pretty popular. A friend of the family got into DJing for a while, but not much came of it. I think he had too much other stuff going on.

He liked the speakers, and they made everything more convenient. No external amp to deal with.