Some vintage amp recommendations please

Username: Mahalaleel

Country.br

Post Number: 1
Hi all,

I'm a student on quite a tight budget and I'm currently trying to create as good an audio system as possible for as little money as possible.

Yesterday I bought a pair of B&W DM-601 S2 speakers in perfect condition for 70 EUR.

Today I met someone who owns some vintage amplifiers and wants to part with them.

The amps are:
[LIST]
- Bell PA-2022 - € 60
- Denon PMA-360 - € 75
- Denon PMA-530 - € 140
- ISP SV-3000 - € 50
- NAD 3130 - € 100
- Rotel RX-402 + RD-12F deck - € 125 for both
- Sansui AU-217 - € 80
- Tensai TA-20045 - € 55

I currently own a Kenwood KA-2050R.

Would any of these amps be worth paying this kind of money for? I.e. would they be an upgrade to the KA-2050R?

Thanks for your suggestions!

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14883

You boxed yourself in when you bought the B&W's. They are a rather dificult load for most amplifiers and nothing on the list would be happy with them as a load. I wouldn't consider most of what's on that list. If you must, do the Rotel but, if you're unhappy, blame it on the speakers. IMO they are about the worst choice for someone on a budget.

Country.br

Post Number: 2
Thanks for your reply.

Could you elaborate a bit? Why are these speakers difficult to drive?

And would you recommend another type of (vintage or new) amp to drive these?

By the way, would I be better off buying a power amplifier such as the Quad 306? I do not have a preamp, but I use audio from my computer's soundcard so I guess I can just hook it up to the power amp?

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14886

Try reading through this thread; https://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/forum/home-audio/628565.html for answers regarding your speakers' load difficulties.