Ascend Acoustics Series 2000 vs PSB Concert Theater System with NAD T762? Hawk, G-MAN, John A, others?

jbliz
I'm a newbie that's been spending way too much time this past week reading through old posts. Unfortunately, the more I read, the more I change my mind, but I think I'm closing in on my decision.

The opinions of Hawk, G-MAN and John A have led me to choose a NAD receiver, most likely the T762 but perhaps the T752 to save cost.

Also based on the old posts of our resident HT gurus, I've narrowed my decision down to two speaker packages:

1. Ascend Acoustics Series 2000 (System 23-2001)
Fronts - CBM-170's
Center - CMT-340c
Surrounds - also CBM-170's
Sub - Hsu VTF-2 (well maybe the VTF-3)

2. PSB Concert Theater System
Fronts - Image 4T's
Center - Image 8C
Surrounds - Image 1B's
Sub - Image SubSonic 6

So what does everyone think?

My room is big and I'll be listening to music and watching DVD's. Probably 70% HT use and 30% music.

As a third option, I was intrigued by a post a read about the Magnepan MMG's, but I think they would blow my $2500 budget if I bought the MMGs for fronts and surrounds, a NAD receiver and a center and sub. I asked for recommendations about a Magnepan system in another post, but didn't hear back from anyone yet. However, I'm still interested how people think a Magnepan system would stack up against the two systems I desribed above.

I plan on heading to a dealer just down the street in Falls Church, VA that carries PSB's and NAD equipment later this week to hear a demo of that system. I guess I'll have to just do the in-home 30-day trial with the ascend acoustic speaker package, sense they are internet sales only.

Any help with these decisions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

jbliz

John A.
Sorry, I personally don't know those particular models. I will watch with interest. Posts of satisfied Magnepan buyers include
https://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/forum/home-audio/5234.html