Onkyo 601 help

mark rouche
I have just received the 601 refurbished from J&R for $280. However not sure if it is working or if I am an idiot. I have no on screen display. The 601 video out is connected directly to tv. The dvd is connected to 601 via s vid, however the manual says coax is only for cd and dvd should be connected to optical. My dvd only has coax. Also the sat and cable are only working if connected directly to tv. otherwise I get sound no video if I use s vid from sat out to the 601 for cable and sat. no onsreen dis at all. I am new to this but have learned a lot from this board. Please help.
thanks

Anonymous
I think the OSD will work only wher composite is connected from receiver to TV. (composite is the once single RCA plug yello color)

mark
can I use receiver to contol video?
thanks

Anonymous
what do u meen?

Mark
can I use the remote for the receiver to control dvd/sat/cable through the receiver? Also if I use the rca cable for on screen do I also use the s video cable out from receiver to tv? Can you use both?

Anonymous
Mark, The remote you have is a universal Pre-programmed and Learning Remote - which means that you should be able to control almost every audio equipment. You should check the user manual for your receiver for the pre-programmed codes for your system components, if you don't find them listed your remote will also be able to "learn" IR signals from your existing remotes - this will also be explained in the manual.
Now for the connections, You can use both outputs with no problem - The S-video is actually better than the normal composite so you would rather use this connection for watching DVD and the composite just for the OSD. if your DVD and TV are both capable of RGB or component then this would be the best connection for the video signals.
Hope this helps

mark