Recommendations please

Username: Navymech

Post Number: 1
Yes, this is my first post here, and I am an av receiver noob, knowing just enough to get myself in trouble. I dont have an av receiver yet, and am in the market to buy one soon (new or used). I dont have a ton of money, or alot of room in my house either (divorce will do that). My system as it exists now is a Directv Plus HD DVR and a Sony DVP-NS75H upconverting DVD player being fed into a manual 3 input/1 output hdmi switch, which in turn feeds into a Panasonic TH-50PX50U 50 inch plasma tv (1080i). I currently listen to the tv, and DVD player, through the tv speakers. I also have a VHS player feeding into the tv through RCA jacks. In addition, I have a JVC rack system that I bought about 20 years ago, and I listened to my music on that. However, many of the components in this system have various problems now, and it would be too expensive to fix or replace it all. In addition, I am re-marrying in the not-too-distant future, and I have to consolidate to save space for when my fiancee moves in, as my house is fairly small. So I want to upgrade my system so that it will do everything from one location. I want to run my DVR and DVD player through a receiver via hdmi, and have the receiver feed into the plasma via hdmi. I want to use the DVD player to play music CD's, and I checked my DVD player's outputs, and it has a coaxial and an optical digital audio output. I just bought my speakers 2 nights ago. I found a pair of Yamaha NS-A1738 speakers in very nice shape for $100, and talked the guy down to $90. They are rated at 6 ohms, and handle a max of 240 watts. They have a set of wire posts for high frequency, and another set of posts for low frequency, and a metal jumper bracket that connects the two sets of posts together. These are 4 way speakers, with 1 one inch tweeter, 2 six and a half inch midranges, and 1 fifteen inch side-firing woofer. I know you can bi-wire, or bi-amp, these speakers. I am an audio no