Problems with yamaha receiver and dvds

Megan
Unregistered guest
I'm not good with this sound stuff so youre gonna have to bear with me. I really need some help. I have a yamaha stereo receiver that is ancient now. It's a rx-v690 and says cinema dsp and dolby surround pro-logic on it. The problem is whenever I go to play a dvd in my JVC dvd player that is dolby digital and dts, no sound comes out for most dvds.

Some dvds that have an extra setting I can get the sound to work, however. For example, dvds with dolby digital 5.1 surround sound do not work but ones with dolby 2.0 surround do.

Is this just a simple case of outdated equipment? Do I just need to buy a new receiver? If so, any you recommend? Thanks so much! Fixing this kinda stuff was always my dad's thing and not I'm left to do it.

Silver Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 282
What's the exact type of your DVD-player and how did you connect it to the receiver?

Megan
Unregistered guest
The dvd player is a JVC XV-FA90 dvd audio/dvd video/cd player. It holds like 6 discs. In terms of its connection to the receiver, all I can tell you is that there is a plethora of wires lol.

I do believe that it is connected to two large speakers by the tv and then speakers in the ceiling. But that's all I know. I'm not sure if your going to be able to help me with the little info I know.

Silver Member

Post Number: 283
OK, it seems that your player can decode Dolby Digital and DTS, so you should be fine with that. No need to buy anything new. Your receiver is actually a five channel pro-logic unit not just a stereo apparatus.