Cambridge 640a SPEAKER pairing question

Username: Stratquack

Near Philly

Post Number: 1
Hello everyone, I'm new here, but I wanted to join up after reading some threads that revealed the knowledgeable commentary present here.

I'm not an "audiophile" ...at least I don't think I am, but I'm a very discerning musician and artist, so I really notice the "little" things. I'm on a budget, and can't afford the really high end stuff, but I do what I can.

I recently replaced an old 70's Sansui solid state receiver with a Cambridge Audio Azure 640a that I purchased on sale at Millersounds in Montgomeryville, PA (he is a speaker re-builder who carries Cambridge products) I test drove the the amp through some Martin Logan speakers he had repaired, and was blown away. I got the amp home and I'm still blown away, but I can really hear the limitations of my 12 year old Technics SB L70 budget floor standing speakers ($170 per pair). The Sansui needed the extra attack in the upper mids to cut through the mud, but it gets to be fatiguing with the Cambridge after a CD or two.

Any suggestions for a reasonably priced (for me, under $700 for the pair) pairings for this Cambridge amp? I'm looking for deep well defined base, nice extended highs that are smooth and airy, perhaps a tad warm, and mids that are accurate....and naturally, a great soundstage.

Music tastes range from Brahms, Led Zeppelin, C. Mingus, Bill Monroe, Prince, Shostakovich, Stones, to Sinatra and Dinah Washington ...pretty much anything but Rap

Thanks!!!

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 2338
I've heard the 640A a few times with Energy speakers. They sounded like a good match.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 11907
Energy RC10 and RC20 standmounts can be had for a good price if you watch out for them.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13431