Looking for a receiver - NEW at this!

Silver Member
Username: Mrskullz1

Brooklyn, New York

Post Number: 981
Hey guys, i am new to the home theater setups. I was told to first buy a nice receiver and by the speakers sepearate for the best audio. My budget would be about 300 the most for a receiver.

I cant be to sure if this is a very low budget but i would really appreciate anybodys help.

I really want a receiver that can decode video AND audio HD. I looked into Onkyo but i know all the ppl at ecoustics have much better brands to offer than the mainstream ones.

I would also appreciate it if you can let me know if there are any speakers that would compliment the receiver

Appreciate anyones help.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Raccoon City, MI USA

Post Number: 12278
Firstly, with a budget of $300, forget the high end boutique brands. Onkyo is fine. I use an Onkyo TX-NR906 myself and lvoe it. It received editor's choice awards from numerous reviews (actually the model under it, the 876 did. the 906 just adds internet connectivity, and some better internal bits.) For your budget look at the Onkyo models such as the SR606
http://reviews.cnet.com/av-receivers/onkyo-tx-sr606-black/4505-6466_7-32956253.h tml?tag=contentMain;contentBody

It's just a hair over your price range but with some shopping around using google shopping and amazon, youo should find it close to the $300 mark.

Personally I'm a big fan of Onkyo. I've used their gear for 20 years now, and always been very pleased. In fact that 20 year old gear still works as well as my new stuff does. Their price point is also a winner as they come in under Denon, usually with superior features.

Silver Member

Brooklyn, New York

Post Number: 983