Good amp for low volume listening

Username: Tyreal

Post Number: 2
I'm new to the audio world, but I'm looking for advice on which would be the best amp for listening to movies at a low volume (10% used for music). Are there certain stat's I should be looking for?

Examples:
• Should I get a 1000wat amp apposed to a 700watt? Because the more power to each speaker, the lower you can have the volume and still have great quality sound?
o And what about the speakers to match the amp? If its 700wat amp for 7.1 systems, should I be looking for max 100watt speakers?
• Is there a "better" company for dynamic range compression? So I get less ear fatigue.

I'm also looking for excellent video processing power for future "proofing" (things like deep color, etc.). Any suggestions are welcome (price range for amp: up to $1500, preferably lower)

Thanks

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13284

Your questions are not realistic. If you are so new to audio that you are asking questions that cannot be answered without pages of explanation, this forum can't help you as much as will a visit to a good audio dealer. You sound like you might be familiar with car audio which means most of what you know will have to be unlearned for home audio.

Do you have any independent audio retailers in your area?

Post Number: 3
I've been to local A/V shops (Bleekers and Audiotronic), but at both places the sales reps basically said anything would work for me... they were willing/recommending anything from $500-$2000. I also tried best buy and future shop which wasn't helpful either...

Unfortunately I'm new to this city, so I don't know where exactly to go to get good advice.

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13287

What city?

Post Number: 4
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Username: Bob_ralph

Post Number: 2
Stereo Plus in Orleans

The Audio Shop on Bank St

Signature Audio-Video in Kanata

Distinctive Audio on Carling (very high end)

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX