Dynaudio Focus 110s vs. 140s - power?

Username: New_england_matt

Brooklyn, NY United States

Post Number: 1
Have much enjoyed reading the posts over the years and now, because I'm in the midst of a big upgrade, am posting for the first time.

I've recently acquired an Arcam A85 and a CD72, so it's now time to upgrade my beloved Paradigm Mini-Monitors. After a lot of auditioning of bookshelf-size speakers in the $1-2k range (including Audio Physic, Totem, B&W, Revel), I've settled on either the Dynaudio Focus 140s or Focus 110s.

While I prefer the spaciousness and deep bass of the 140s, my question is whether or not my Arcam will be up to driving the 140s, or if I'd be better served by saving some money and going for the 110s (which are also no slouches in the bass & space department)?

Thanks to all, and happy new year!

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 1889
Sounds like you have the making for a very nice system Matt. I have no experience with Dynaudio. Hopefully someone will come along soon with the knowledge you seek.

What were your thoughts on the Totems? Which ones did you audition? I'm a big Totem fan.

Gold Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 2207
Frank should be along shortly Matt. He has a lot of experience with both Arcam and Dynaudio.

Post Number: 2
I'd listened to the Rainmakers and the Model Ones. (The floorstanders are a no-go due to apartment living, unfortunately.) I'd consider the Rainmakers pretty seriously if the Dyns hadn't grabbed me; one of the best values of what I'd auditioned, IMHO, given the strong low end and good sound-staging. As with my paradigms, doubt that I'd ever look back.
The Model Ones I found a bit lacking in the low end for my taste, given that I listen to a lot of rock and jazz, and a subwoofer would annoy the neighbors. As with the Audio Physics, however, I loved the airy sound-stage. Have you owned Totems other than the Sttaf?