Headphone amp set-up advise, please

Bronze Member
Username: Uncle_pikey

Post Number: 11
Hey there,

I'm just burning in a very lovely Graham Slee Solo MC headphone amp to use with my AKG K-701 cans. As I'm new to headphone listening, I have a dumbass question.

A bit of background...

My source is a Squeezebox 3 running FLAC into a CIAudio VDA2 DAC via co-ax. At the moment, the DAC then goes straight into the Solo head amp (the DAC also feeds my MF A3.5 > Dynaudio S1.4 speakers at the flick of a switch).

I'm, not bothered about any switching control (the DAC can route the sound to my speakers when needed) because I will only use the head amp with this source.

So, bearing this in mind, is there any point [sonic advantages, as opposed to practicality] in me instead connecting the Solo to the Tape Line Out on my integrated, so it gets the DACed signal from there? Or would I just be passing the signal through circuits for the sake of it?

Cheers,

Michael

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 11064
It seems circuitous, Michael.
Is the switch between headphone amp and the MF on the dac?
Is so, then you are plumbed in the way that I would do it as well.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 12
Hi Nuck,

Yeah, the DAC has two analogue outs - one connected to the Solo and one to the MF.

The only catch is that if - for whatever reason - I wanted the speakers on at the same time as the phones, one of them would have to be out of phase. The DAC has a 'phase' switch as opposed to a straight source selection switch - the two outputs are 0 and 180 degrees, with a 0 or 180 switch on the front.

But I suppose I could always reverse wire my speakers so they would really be 0 when the switch was on 180. Then both would be on 0 all the time. If you see what I mean...

Hard to explain without a visual, or unless you've seen a VDA2.

Cheers,

Michael

Bronze Member

Post Number: 13