Mission M34 vs. Monitor Audio B4

Logan
Unregistered guest
hi! I eyeing this 2 speakers and I'm having a hard time deciding which is good for my AVReciever. By the way I'm using a NADT753. I really appreaciate for any help. Thanks!

Silver Member
Username: Robertinchico

Post Number: 123
I found the Monitor B4, auditioned at GoodGuys, with Monster Cable (which I don't like) and Denon equipment - to be grainy, "woofy" and the drivers can be easily overworked. If you listen to the B4's again - pop off the tweeter screen and listen to how improperly bright they become. You can do better for $500 + dollars.

Logan
Unregistered guest
thanks Chicobiker. So it means that I should go for Mission M34 instead? Sorry I forgot to tell that I'm just a newbie in this hobby.

OnimushaLord
Unregistered guest
I for one beg to differ, the MA B4 are reasonably good speakers with just a tad too much of bass emphasis. However, bass is tight and punchy for its price category.

The latest Hi Fi Choice issue (May/June 2004) has a floorstander shoot out between the Monitor Audio's B4 with several others: Focal JM Lab/Mordaunt Short Avant 904/ KEF Q4/ Tannoy Fusion 4/ Mission M35(supposedly superior to the M34 you are asking here). Guess what? The sound aspect of B4=83%
edged out a little by Tannoy's Fusion 4=84%
The Mission M35 sound rating was only =68% or was it 75% (can't really remember but I only noted it was pretty bad for a speaker with so many drivers)
Overall score for the M35 was also disappointing as compared to MA B4(2nd) or Tannoy Fusion4(1st).
What more can you say about the M34s in this case?