Dumb question #1 - Difference between pre-out and zone out?

Username: Kdfrky

Post Number: 1
I'm new to hifi set-up and trying to do multi-room on the cheap. At this point I don't care about multi-source; just want to send my signal from main unit to other rooms. Currently have HK AVR85 which has multiroom out. Connected a wireless 2.4Ghz sender to the multiroom out and the wireless receiver to a receiver in another room. This works (I know wireless degrades the sound but at this point I don't want to run wires all over the house). My problem is that I would like to upgrade my HK to a newer receiver or amp setup. The rub is that I don't want an AV receiver, just a 2-channel stereo receiver or amp/preamp combo. Most of these however don't have multizone capability. I was thinking I could use a pre-out for the wireless sender in the same manner that I currently use the zone out. Tried it with my current setup and it didn't work too well. The problem was the volume. The multiroom feature allows the two systems to be volume independent whereas using the pre-out on my HK made my remote system dependent on the volume level of the HK.

I know I've probably horrified some of you with my crazy set-up but any thoughts on:

1) a resource guide for understanding pre-outs etc.

2) a good way to hook up an amp/receiver in another room to my main system if the main doesn't have zone-out capability?

3) a good 2-channel receiver or int. amp or amp/preamp ($1000 or less) that has zone-out capability?

Thanks for bearing with me on this one ; )

Post Number: 4
In case anyone is interested.

Well, I answered my own dumb question. I can achieve the same result by plugging the wireless transmitter into the tape-out.