Dynaudio 42

Quadstar
Unregistered guest
Hi,

I'm new to this audio stuff and will be having my first stereo setup soon. After some listening in a nearby audio shops, I'm stuck with the Dynaudio 42, Paradigm Monitor 3 and the B&W 602 s3 after some listening. What do you guys think about these speakers? Anyone here own anyway of this speaker here and would like to share your opinion?

Or any other suggestions on the speaker in the same price range?

BTW, I have the NAD C320BEE and NAD C541i

I hope Hawk and others could give me some advice.

Silver Member
Username: Rick_b

New york Usa

Post Number: 252
Quadstar,

All 3 speakers are good ones. What really matters is which one you think sounds best. I am familiar with all 3, and for my money I would go with the Dynaudio 42's with your NAD gear. I think the combo of NAD's warm sound with the fine imaging and detailed sound of the 42's make for an excellent combo. Good luck.

Quadstar
Unregistered guest
Thanks for your advice... Will be doing some more listening on these three to find out which one I like the most.

BTW, any other speakers in the same price range that you may suggest?

Silver Member

New york Usa

Post Number: 257
Quadstar,

For speakers to $1000 a pair, you may also want to audition Magnepan MMG's and Ohm Micro Talls.

Unregistered guest
Hi Quadstar,

Have you considered used gear? I know it's a bit of a gamble, but you can get used stuff off of Audiogon.com for often 1/3 of retail. Between this forum, Audioreview.com, and some research, you could really line yourself up something you wouldn't normally be able to aford.

You can buy new ones for $1000, or a $3000 pair for $1000 used. Mind you, these guys generally take excellent care of their gear. It's just a thought,(and if anyone on this forum disagrees with me - I'd listen to them!) lol