Please recommend decent receiver for Fluance AVHTB+ speaker system

Username: Yabadabadoo

Bedfors, Mass USA

Post Number: 1
Hello:
I am a COMPLETE newbie to this "AV Receivers" world! I have never owned own before.
I have a 46" SONY BRAVIA LCD TV, Verizon FiOS HD Set top box, a Phillips 5140 DVD player and a PS3. I just ordered the Fluance AV HTB+ speaker system and I need your inputs on selecting a decent AV Receiver that would work well with my newly ordered speakers and a receiver I could connect ALL my components and BE HAPPY :-)!
My budget for the receiver is $200 max.

Thank you!

Silver Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 769
I run Fluance speakers in my secondary HT system in the basement (for the kids watching movies, me playing XBox...). I'm driving them with a lower end Yamaha surround receiver (HTR-6030, I think?). It sounds alright. As long as you don't expect jaw dropping sound it's pretty good. I think I paid around 200 bucks for it.

Bedfors, Mass USA

Post Number: 2
Thanks Dave, for your time and reply! I did some "research" and I have the following shortlisted:
Yamaha RX-V363BL
SONY DG520
Yamaha RX-V361BL

These were the good ones with HDMI capabilities.

What would you suggest?

Silver Member

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 770
Scratch the Sony. The Yamaha RX series are essentially the same as the HTR series, but are generally targeted towards shops other than the big box ones. A lot of people around here really like Harman Kardon for HT too. Check out:

http://www.harmanaudio.com/search_browse/default.asp?cat=REC&sp='S','R'

Bedfors, Mass USA

Post Number: 3
I just ordered the Onkyo TX SR605 as I found a good deal in CC (341.99+taxes).

Is there a difference between the silver and the black models (apart from the color ofcourse)? The reason I am asking this is, the silver color model is on sale, but the black colored model is not!!