Amp/Pre-amp pairing for Anthony Gallo Ref 3.1??

Username: Danyal711

Post Number: 1
Hi, I am trying to figure out what a good pairing would be for the Anthony Gallo Ref 3.1 speakers. I am relatively new to home audio however I know a decent amount of the terminology / technical stuff.

Basically, I am debating whether to either get a pre-amp + amp or integrated. I should note that the music source will be a squeezebox (lossless music though) (which I plan to get modded from bolder).

My budget is ~3K though I could go a little higher if there was a good reason. When I went to check out the gallos, the person helping me highly recommended the Rotel RB-1072 power amp + either the RC-1070 or RC-1082 pre-amp. That would cost some where in the range of $1400 - $2200.

My other question is for that price range is it worth getting an integrated tube amp?

http://www.raysonicaudio.com/amp/sp120mkII.html

Looks really good but no reviews yet because its brand new... its around 2400

The only other ones that seem to be within my price range that I *have* read reviews for are the Cayin A-88T and the Rogue Audio Cronus.

One of my concerns is that the Rotel will be pushing out around 100wpc whereas the tube amps I could afford will only do like 50wpc max... and the Gallos are known to need a lot of power because of their woofer (though I know I can buy the woofer amp for extra).

Any ideas?? (I know im asking for a lot but since I am new I am overwhelmed with the amount of info out there).

I know a lot of people say buy separates (pre-amp + amp) even if they are slightly worse because that allows you to upgrade later... Personally, I would much rather buy the most solid system I can buy now and not worry about it later (meaning if for the price I can get a much better integrated amp, then I would rather do that).