Advice needed on hifi set plaese

Username: Josephine

Post Number: 1
Hi experts,

I am new in this and need some advice. Saved some mony for a hifi installation, approx EUR.5000,- available. My first visist to an audio store. Took with me a cd of Sting (brand new day) and Rodiguez spanish guitar concert. Listened to Cyrus 8vs and Dynaudio 220. Nice. Next shop. Naim Supernait and other speakers, PMC small monitors and Totem Hawk. Holy cow. That is powerfull. Instantly addicted. I want that! Or was it the bottle of beer the guys gave me. Or was that just because I am a girl... However,the price difference is huge. I have heard that the Supernait is good to use with sonos, which i like very much. Now.... anyone with some advice? I would like to invest just once....does this all sound stupid. Please give me some feedback.

J

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 6261
If you have the money stick with the "Holy cow"..."I want that!"

Naim is excellent gear...Sonos...hmm..not as much.

Post Number: 2
Fact is, there was`some time between listening session 1 and 2. Difficult to compare when you cannot swith instantly.

Gold Member

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 6262
But only you can decide which of those you like best...we can't do that for you. Our opinions relative to brands etc will be only that, our opinions. Advice, go listen again.

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 2485
Cyrus is a polite, friendly, "nice" sound as you put it.

Naim is a high energy, almost in your face, live sound.

They're very different. Not that the speakers are that similar, but the differences you heard were due to the equipment.

The SuperNait has a built in DAC. If the Sonos has a digital output, it should sound very good with the SuperNait. Just make sure you hear them together before buying.

As Art says, these are just opinions. Its your money and ears. You can't go wrong with listening more.

Gold Member