Connecting voice transformer/vocoder to pc

Username: Krizz

Post Number: 1
Hi everyone.
I just purchased a voice transformer (Roland Boss VT-1) and I want to connect it to my laptop (Acer Aspire 5050) and get quite good sound quality when I record through it with the line-in on the laptop.

I will have my mic connected to the voice transformer through a microphone pre-amp (ART Tube MP Project Series) cuz I already have one (and it is not good to connect mic directly to VT). But do I need one more preamp or even a real amp between the voice transformer and the laptop line-in? Just want to know if I need to buy one cuz I don't have a real amp at the time. Only a pre. Can I connect the VT directly to the PC?

Is this the right method:
Mic->pre-amp->voice transformer->laptop line-in

or

Mic->pre-amp->voice transformer->pre-amp/amp->line-in

Plzzz help, sorry for my stupid question but I'm quite new in the business.. :-/

Thanks

Post Number: 2
By the way here is a picture of the voice transformer:

Upload

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 12237

Read the owner's manual, it should provide set up instructions. I don't know why you would need a "real" amp but then I'm not sure what you want to do.

Post Number: 3
Thanks, but the problem is that in the manual there is an arrow from the R L out's you can see on the pic to a textbox that says "Amplifier" I don't know if they mean that I should connect them to an amp in order to work? I don't want to buy the wrong cable, I mean it's better to buy an amp if it's necessary than buying a direct connecting cable that doesn't work :-/ (an R L to 3,5 mm jack cable).

What I want is just to record voice to the pc with my mic through the VT to make robotic voices etc. for my loops. Instead of just recording voice through a mic pre-amp I want to record through both the VT and the pre.