More Rega P1 questions

Username: Fagen

Post Number: 10
(hi jan...hope you see this...you've given me some good advice before, and i could sure use it again...although other thoughts/suggestions are welcome too)

here's my situation...i needed a 2nd turntable for transferring my lp's to digital files...i chose a P1 for practical reasons. my "main" table for now is an AR ES-1 with a Rega RB300 tonearm and a Shure V15VxMR to go with it. after i'm done with my "lp project" by 2009 (i have a lot of lp's to work on, whew!), my plan is to add a glass platter and put the RB300 on the P1 (making it my main table)...and my aging AR will eventually end up being the "other" table (with the P1's tonearm).

now, here's my first concern...since the transfer of lp's to digital files is the only purpose for the P1 at present, i'm just trying to avoid extra expenses for an upgrade...at least until i'm all done with the project. i'm actually new to this digital process, and i don't know if upgrading the P1 (or even changing the stylus or cartridge) now would make much of a difference for a digital transfer.

so...would a "stock" P1 (with the om-5) be adequate enough for transferring lp's to digital files?

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 9384
fagen, you are not transferring digital files. You are converting analog to digital, and the best possible analog signal is the one you should use.
Always. The 300 arm and OM5 cart is not likely to be the best match, simply because a better cart, say up to a Dynavector 10x5 would best use the arms ability.
If you are going to do this once, maybe do your best?
A 10x5, after selling the stuff you don't need, would provide the better signal for the conversion.
Which conversion are you using?
Phono stage?
Do tell.

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 2332
Why a second table? Do you feel the current table isn't good enough?