Looking for a nice home system.

Bronze Member
Username: Allstar71

Jefferson, Ga

Post Number: 56
I don't know if this is the right place for this post but here it goes.

I am very new to home audio. I have spent a lot of time with car audio all the major players are different.

I am looking to purchase a nice stereo for my house. I am looking to spend $1,000 on the setup initially but I want to be able to upgrade later. Where do I need to begin? Any recommendations would be great. I am starting completely from scratch. And I am not opposed to building by own speaker enclosures if necessary (my dad owns and I work at a very high end millwork company). I would only need help with the acoustical details I can draw the plans in AutoCAD.

I would like the ability to fill a large room with vaulted ceilings and maintain good sound quality.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 9383
David, if you are going to have to compare home and car audio systems, you are going to need to listen really hard, and maybe learn how to listen.
Building bass kits for cars is a whole lot different than an open room, in every way.

I suggest you drop everything you heard in cars and just go out and listen at various dealers.
If all you listen to is bass orientd music(happens in car stuff) then look for that.
If your tastes are more varied, then you have to explore that as well.
I am not anti-car(had a few) but I am anti imbalance in musical reproduction.
An Oppo dv player is as cheap as you can start, and I recommend starting with the source.
Various pc based options are also there. As long as no MP3's!

Bronze Member
Username: Allstar71

Jefferson, Ga

Post Number: 57