No Dolby with optical connection?

Username: Sgriffe

PA United States

Post Number: 1
I'm a newbie so please bear with me. I have just purchased a Samsung 5064 plasma, an Oppo DV-980H DVD player, Onkyo TX-SR605 receiver, and Onkyo SKS-HT240 6.1 speaker package. It's all working but my receiver won't display Dolby as an option. I've read a couple of posts elsewhere that say that I won't get Dolby as an option if I use an optical connection for audio. Everything is hooked up via HDMI but in order to get audio I had to use an optical cable. I've read about pass through but I'm just not getting the definition. Can someone explain very simply what pass through is/does and if I should be able to get Dolby? Thanks

Silver Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 795
Hey Shirleen, welcome to the forum. If you using HDMI from the Source(DVD player, Satelite receiver) for video to the TV and and Optical cable from the Source to the Onkyo receiver for audio. That is perfect. When using a digital audio cable, such as your optical cable, your receiver is only going to receive the audio format the source is telling it to. For example, if your watching a DVD that is not using Dolby Digital for audio, then the receiver will not receive dolby digital. Same goes for TV. If you put in a movie, go to the languages section of the DVD's menu, and make sure you are watching it in Dolby or DTS, then your receiver should switch by itself.

As far as the DD pass through your talking about. People are referring to the new High Def Audio Formats. Like TRUE Dobly Digital or True HD DTS that is only seen on Blu-Ray or HD Dvd players. These HD Audio formats can only be pass through using an HDMI cables or RCA cables from a 5.1 audio output connection on the back of the player which will convert the HD audio format into PCM. You dont have to worry about this. Unless your watching a Blu Ray movie or HD DVD movie.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 2552
Shirleen,