NAD..A good match for B&W 683's?

Username: Radiskull

San Diego, CA U.S.A

Post Number: 3
I'm very new to the Hi-Fi world, and I'm currently shopping around for an entry level system, I'm on a budget. I need a CD player, Amp and Pre Amp combo, and a pair of speakers. I've looked at the B&W 683 and the NAD C162 C272. Are these good combo's for the speakers? or should I get some thing from Rotel for the 683's. I listen to a lot of Heavy Metal and Classic Rock. I like good clean high's(Not artifical though) and clean punchy bass. Also if some one can recommend a CD player for under $800 would highly appreciate it. Whatcha think, good choice??? Still in the market shopping, San Diego area.

Silver Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 790
Hey Rogman, welcome to the forum. Rotel has the clean highs you are looking for, but the NAD has the punchy bass. Both are good. Both sound totally different. The more popular combination would be the B&W/Rotel combo. For a cd player under 800, I would go with the Rotel 1072 I think it is, or the NAD C542. Depending of course which you choose for the pre/pro brand. Or for 200 dollars more you can get the highly regarded Rega Apollo. I would audition the NAD and Rotel on some B&W speakers and hear which one you like best. Cheers.

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 2300
Rogman,

Have you heard the NAD/B&W combo you mentioned? If so, what were your thoughts? What did or didn't you like about it? What do you have now? What does it do right and wrong?

I haven't heard the new B&Ws, so I have no opinion on them. I didn't care much for the old 600 series (if that's what they replaced). Bass seemed boomy, and the cabinets made too much noise for my ears. But that's just my opinion. There's a few people here that'll agree and disagree. If B&W fixed these issues, they could be a great speaker.