Turntables? We Don't Need No Stinking Turntables

Username: Dbnh77

NH USA

Post Number: 7
I'm fairly new to the high end end audio game.

I have a decent set of speakers and receiver but I am a little curious about turntables done right.

I grew up on casettes and CD's and never really had the opportunit to listen to music on a decent turntable. i hear that it sounds better but as with everything else in the audio world better is subjective.

For those of you with turntables/records can you tell me what makes the sound better? where does one buy records? is the selection limited? howmuch does one have to spend to get a decent turntable?

Username: Bug20k1

California USA

Post Number: 2
I've seen turntables for sale at a store in my local mall, I believe it was Urban Outfitters. But, my friend (an aspiring DJ) had said the brand ION isn't any good. Though his definition of good is for doing mixing and live sets, I don't know how good they are quality wise. I saw some turntables for sale at Best Buy a few months ago, they should still have them in their inventory there. I'm starting to get into turntables more myself as well, I'll get back to you on more specific prices as I find them.

Username: Bug20k1

California USA

Post Number: 3
props for the Blazing Saddles reference, btw. :-)

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 9283
A rega P2 is a fine start.
The Pro-ject is also a good line.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 11777

"props for the Blazing Saddles reference, btw."

http://search.yahoo.com/bin/search?fr=ybr_sbc&p=we%20don't%20need%20no%20stinkin'%20badges