B&W 805S or Epos ES11 Loudspeakers

Username: Portnoy

Post Number: 1
I have been saving for five years now and looking forward to the time (which has finally arrived)when I can upgrade my Arcam Alpha 7,8 and 8P amps and cd player and EposWS11 speakers to Arcams (better?) FMJ Series matched with the highly recommneded B&W 805S.
On hearing the B&W's for the first time I was extremely disappointed with the sound, finding the sound very light and trebly unlike my beloved ES11's which have "body"and treble clarity when required and which have served me for the past 15 years.
Does anyone share my views?
I want to like them but I don't like what I am hearing.
Would I get to like them?
I can't believe that I don't share the views/reviews of the many critic and experts reviews that i've read over the years.

Help ! Someone please !

Henry

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 11769

Why did you think you'd like them? Had you never heard them before but just started saving with those speakers in mind? Based on what you'd read?

Where'd you hear them? With your CD's or their's? Do you think this was a fair demonstration? I don't believe most people would consider any current B&W speaker to be "light" though crisp through the top end might be a reasonable description. Did you compare them to any other speaker in the same shop?

Username: Portnoy

Post Number: 2
Thanks Jan for your response.
I thought that I should like them because every mazazine that I read spoke so highly of them.
My Hi-Fi dealer demonstrated the speakers with my CD's (rock/metal) using Primare, Lavardin and Krell equipment amps/cd players.
Maybe "crisp" describes the sound better but i found thewwm lacking in bass. Maybe it was my initial reraction on heraing them first after listening to the Epos for 15 years or more and which are strong in bass.
I compared them to Spendor speakers which i found better although not better than my Epos.