Opinion on Marantz SR5002 vs Onkyo TX-SR805

Username: Baldeagle

Post Number: 1
Hi... I am new to this audiophile world :-) so I'd like your help in deciding what receiver I should buy.

Speakers: I am evaluating B&W 684 vs Paradigm Monitor 9

AV Receiver: I can get a Marantz SR5002 listed at $800 or an Onkyo TX-SR805 for $1000. Now, while people swear by the Marantz, I've had a Paradigm dealer swear by the Onkyo 805. The Onkyo comes standard with "for-the-future" features like Dolby TrueHD, dtsHD, THX Ultra2, etc. The Marantz 5002 does not have TrueHD etc; but the Marantz 7002 does (but is also priced significantly higher at $1500 list).

The Marantz also boasts "discrete amplification" for all 7 channels. The Onkyo does not specify this... but says something like "All Discrete Circuitry". This is so confusing!!

Now, do I go in for Onkyo or the Marantz? Your input is much appreciated for this novice.

Silver Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 562
With Paradigm or B&W, IMO I would go for something else. To my ears Ealge, I like the Marantz sound better than the Onkyo stuff. But to each their own. But to my ears, I dont care for the sound of either. If it HAS to be one of those, I would choose the 1500 dollar Marantz. If 1000 dollars is your budget but you can look elsewhere, look at perhaps H/K. Cheers.

Post Number: 3
Nick, Thanks for the response... No, I am not married to either of the two. All I had to go by were the 2 dealers (B&W, Paradigm) and what they were touting. Also, my $1000 - $1200 budget :-(. So, sure, I will look at H/K... by H/K you mean Harmon Kardon or something else?
Regards, Eagle

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 8903
I am a little surprised that the B&W dealer didn't suggest/carry Rotel, actually.

Post Number: 4
OK, so I checked out the Harman Kardon AVR series. Specifically AVR 347 priced at $800 and AVR 445 at $1100.