Basic amp/receiver questions

Bronze Member
Username: Wildman10387

Holden, Massachusetts

Post Number: 15
On another thread, i mentioned that I was interested in a pair of Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grands. I currently am running a HK 445 and was told that I might need to upgrade my equipment to run these speakers. I believe they meant to get an amp/preamp however outside of the receiver and speaker world I am a novice. I was recently looking at the NAD C272, would this amp be enough? Would I be amp to us these speakers with a better receiver say from NAD or Rotel? Also if I got the amp would I be able to us the pre-outs on the HK to connect to the amp to power the Mozarts? Would the amp improve sound quality with the HK or would it be best to get and amp/pre-amp set up?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 11511

I think the questions were similar. What answers did we provide on the other thread? We hate to contradict ourselves.

Bronze Member

Holden, Massachusetts

Post Number: 16
I'm looking upgrading my speakers from my current one, that are being powered by a Harman Kardon AVR 445. I was looking at floorstanding speakers in the price range of 800-1200 per pair. I came up with Paradigm Monitor 9, Monitor Audio Silver rs6 Definitive Technologies BP 7006, Polk Lsi15, Revel Concerta F12, and either Wharfedale Diamond 9.6 or Opus I or II.

I also like Vienna Acoustics Mozart ( i know they are out of the price but if they are worth waiting a little longer then so be it.) The sound that I am trying to get is crisp, delicate, sweet, warm highs, something that would simply roll out acoustic guitars or make George Winston's December Album sound absolutely amazing. A speaker that creates a warming feeling when it is played. Besides that I sometimes listen to rock and live music. Do any of these speaker that I have listen describe what I am looking for or is there something else out there in this price range.