Brand new Technics SL-1200MK2, sound completely distorted.

Username: Jfellman5

Post Number: 1
The title explains the problem. Despite taking extreme care and time
in assembling my new turntable (I studied the manual for an hour before even touching the machine), the sound is drastically warped/distorted to the point of being
un-listenable.

I've tinkered with the balance weight of the arm, the anti-skate
control, the pitch, the tone-arm height, the stylus placement (I used
an overhang gauge) and the speed, and nothing seems to make a
difference. I also, of course, tried different records, both old and
new, all of which played successfully on my old turntable.

Did I buy a turntable with a faulty motor?

Thanks,
Julie

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 11024

Why would you think it's a faulty motor? Is the speed inconsistent?

Firstly, "tinkering" is usualy not a good idea unless you either know what you're doing or have someone to guide you.

Place "turntable set up" in a search engine for some guides to getting the table up and running properly. It's possible you missed some tie down screws which would solve the problem. Look for any reference to such in your owner's manual. Otherwise, if the table is new, I would suggest you return to the shop where you made the purchase for either a new table or some assistance with this one.

Bronze Member
Username: Mekongdelta69

Grew up in Brooklyn an...

Post Number: 47
Jan,

This may be a long shot, but wth...

(This is from my SP-15 thread):

Me - Tuesday, April 03, 2007 - 05:55 am