Center speaker output issue with Marantz SR4400

Username: Jesder

Post Number: 1
Hi all,

I have encountered an issue with the output of the center speaker on my Marantz SR4400 receiver. I am using Digital 1 in (optical) with DD5.1. I have been using the receiver for around 2 years without a problem.

While surround is output perfectly on the Front left & right and the Side left and Right, next to nothing can be heard from the center. This is very noticeable when watching DVD's since the speech is output via the center speaker. If i hold my ear up close to the center, I can just make out the movie dialog.

I encounter the same issue when using my PS3 or DVD player hooked up to the receiver, so I think the problem is with the receiver.

Things I have tried:

1) Swapping the center speaker with a different one. Since i can hear perfect sound via the Front left and right, I swapped the front left speaker with the center speaker. Perfect sound from the front left but still minimal sound from the center speaker - so I am happy from this test that the speaker itself is not faulty.

2) Swapping the wire used by the center speaker. For this I unhooked the Front left speaker wire and swapped it with the center speaker. Again perfect sound from the front left but minimal from the center. This means the wire is not at fault and the center speaker connection checked.

3) Reset the SR4400 back to default settings by holding [CLEAR] and [MEMORY] buttons. After this, I reconfigured the input, etc - exact same problem. I suspect this should prove it isnt a setting issue (unless there is another way to reset to factor defaults).

4) Used the Test Mode (in the setup menu) which plays a sound through each speaker separately- all speakers emit the sound, except the center speaker.