Problems with system, not sure where at exactly.

Bronze Member
Username: Shike

Newton, Iowa USA

Post Number: 22
Hey guys, it's me again.

A while ago I decided to upgrade my system some. I switched out the old Technics for an Emotiva BPA-1 and I'm using that with a Pioneer VSX-816K.

Here's the issue though. Recently I've started to have some problems with channels dropping out or being filled with static. I'm having a hard time tracking it down to a specific component. I cleaned the potentiometer on the Pioneer as suggested be some however the problem persists.

So here's the thing, I'm not sure if it's the receiver, the interconnects, or even possibly the amp. Sometimes simply increasing the volume on the Pio will solve the issue. Tonight it didn't though so I started playing with my cables. I found that pushing the cable in on the interconnect while hooked to the receiver solved the issue, whether it was coincedence or not I'm not sure. The cables I'm using are Monster Interlink 250 (was the only thing I could get on short notice).

What are the odds the preouts on my receiver are biting the dust, or that the cable's bad, etc? I really would hate to have to send it out for servicing (especially if it's not causing the issue), but I'm at a loss of what to do. I don't have spare components to test with anymore.

Any advice on how I should go about troubleshooting? It's happening on and off so it's a pain trying to catch it.

Silver Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 189
Have you tried swapping out the cables? For example, if the right front channel is dropping out, switch the right/left front cables. If the left then starts dropping out then you know it's the cable. Know what I mean? If that doesn't work, then try bypassing your Emotiva and run your speakers off the receiver and see if that fixes it.

Bronze Member

Newton, Iowa USA

Post Number: 23