Yamaha RX-V861 Recommendation

Username: Lrey

Post Number: 1
Hello All I am new to this thread but have been reading for some time.

I am looking at purchasing the Yamaha RX-V861. I currently have an older model Yamaha. I have only owned Yamaha and am looking to find out if there is something better for the price that I will purchase this unit. I can get for about 650.

I really like this Yamaha for the HD upconversion to 1080, the IPOD connection. Does anyone have a recommendation on anything similar for this price with these features?

I am also trying to find some speakers that will match well with this unit. I currently own an old yamaha speaker set smaller then bookshelf speakers and small sub. I am looking to spend about 500 on the speakers.
I am on a budget with the speakers so I could get some now and wait until later or is there a bundle that I can get that is worth it. I am currently thinking I need floorstandings because i like to listen to cd music and do not feel i get the bass I need with the small satellite speakers from Yamaha. Any Recommendation?

Any help would be appreciated...

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 7888
Luis, are you intending on watching dvd, listening to the pod, both in 2 channel?
Is this your goal?

Post Number: 3
Thanks Nuck for commenting.

My intention is to do 6.1 for Movies and two channel for CD and IPOD which I think the floorstanding will work better for.

I also have a SACD player (Pioneer Elite) which I also connect to my current Yamaha to get better quality sound from my music but am limited to the lack of SACD on the market. Especially for Latin music.

Gold Member

Post Number: 7896
Luis, I cannot comment on 5 speaker packages, other than you may as well keep what you have.
As for receiver features, a dvd player can opsample better than a receiver, and an ipod dock is available for dirt cheap, so no improvement there.

I bet the Yamaha sales guy hates me.