Paradigm Studio 60v4

Silver Member
Username: Stryvn

Post Number: 294
I've been enjoying my Studio 60's for about 6 months now. Pulled the grilles off the other day and noticed small tears in the mids around the perimeter. I don't know how the tears got there other than to say that I noticed small creases at the perimeter of the connective material the day I brought them home. The tears are all originating at these creases.

I called the dealer today and he said he'd order new ones and call me to arrange repairs. I don't want to be in the business of hauling my speakers around town every 6 months to replace drivers. I suppose this once ain't gonna kill me...but I ain't happy.

Anybody else seen this? Have I done something to cause this?

Thanks

Silver Member
Username: Gavdawg

Upstate, New York

Post Number: 716
This is the first time I have heard of this occuring, but will do some hunting around to be sure. I have for the most part been a fan of the Paradigm studio series, and would like to know if this would happen to me if I purchased a pair down the road.

Silver Member

Post Number: 296
I'll let you know how this shakes out, Gavin. Gonna try to take some pics too.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 7798
Call you to arrange repairs is warranty, yes?
I would look very closely at the replacement parts for similar appearance of creases.

Did the cracks not affect the sound, or is that why you removed the grilles?

Silver Member

Post Number: 297
Yes, warranty. I will be looking very closely at the new ones.

I took the grilles off originally for an extended showing after the BOC concert late last week. (I think they sound better without the grilles off.) Sound quality problems is not the reason I originally took the grilles off. I have not been doing a lot of listening lately...after I noticed the tears I threw in some reference material (The Final Cut) and listened more intently. They seemed a bit harsh, or off, in the mids/highs.

Pic #1 shows tear.