Need a reciever...any recomendations?

Username: Killergoat117

Sioux Falls, SD USA

Post Number: 1
hey im a college student...so money is tight...but i am in need of a reciever that is capable of putting out at least 100wattsrms x 2 @ 8 ohms...a little more or less is ok...gona mostly use it for music...i dont want the surround sound stuff...just plain stereo...it would be nice if the receiver had a subwoofer output too...thanks...

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 7546
Harmon Karden is a good dependable make, Michael.
Do you have speakers?

Sioux Falls, SD USA

Post Number: 2
yea i have some old speakers my youth pastor gave me...they have been gettin me by...not sure on the make or model as it has been worn away...but they sound really good to me...they each have a 15" woofer...id say a 4 inch mid...3 inch upper mid...and a 1 inch tweeter....i have a cheap aiwa pushing them now...and the speakers are sreaming for more power...the aiwa gets them maybe 20rms...haha...and the 15"s seem to have an xmax of around 8mm one way...but they barely move before the receiver goes into protect...i think its time...i do like a brighter sound...but not harsh...would u think that the 4 way speakers i have now would give me that with the hk...ik that hk receivers are said to be warmer...i also looked at the pioneer elite M-10x and A-35R...what do u think about those....

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 7550
MA, at this time I would suggest that you get a receiver fom the most convienent source posssible and wait for the better deal to come along.
Speakers get old.

If you stay with us, we can show you the way to audio happiness.

Sioux Falls, SD USA

Post Number: 3