Choosing a system

Username: Paulkay

CopenhagenDenmark

Post Number: 1
Hello all, and thanks for a very informative and lively forum.

I'm a relative newbie to the DVD/Surround field and could do with a little advice from all you experts out there.

I'm in the market for a new system and want to go the DVD/Surround route (been using my girlfriends 9 year old Kenwood stack system for too long). I have a budget of around US$ 2,500 (this is not as much as it sounds when converted into Danish prices!) It should include DVD, Reciever, Stereo speakers, cable and connectors. Hopefully, if the budget allows, a small, inexpensive sub would be added.

My main use is for music - I'd say 80/20. I won't be getting rear speakers (neighbours to consider), but I may want to add a centre speaker some time in the future.

I like the sound to be 'punchy' with good bass and treble - 'balls', you might say! To give you a better idea, I'm an old advocate of the graphic equaliser and the loudness button. (Why don't recievers have loudness buttons?)

I live in Copenhagen, Denmark, and a lot of the stuff you talk about is not easily available here. This is the stuff I've been considering:

All prices are the price in Denmark, converted to US Dollars.

DVD
NAD-T533 DVD Audio $428
Denon-DVD 1400 $635

Reciever
NAD-T743 $794
Denon-AVR 1804 $524
Denon-AVR 2803 $794

Speakers
KEF Q-5 $953
Dali Suite 1.7 $953

Any advice on Harmon Kardon in a similar price range would be useful.

Together with an inexpensive sub (for a little punch/bass enhancement. I don't want to shake the room.

My room is approx 13' X 11 and the speakers will be sitting about 15' from the hi-fi.

The type of music I listen is varied consisting of rock (Beatles, Zep, Black Crows, King Crimsom, Bjork, David Sylvian), folk and folk/rock (Richard Thompson, John Martyn, Damien Rice, Nick Drake) and Jazz (Miles, Coltrane, Pat Metheny etc.)