Archive through February 22, 2007

Gold Member
Username: My_rantz

Australia

Post Number: 1072
Web Guitar Wizard Revealed at Last - New York Times

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/08/27/arts/television/27heff.html?ei=5088&en=5b993ce 30a7b7039&ex=1314331200&partner=rssnyt&emc=rss&pagewanted=all

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 5528
JC, yes he is.

MR, thank you for that link.
The breakdown of the piece is a little too much for a guy who doesnt read music, but inspiring for all the self-taught players out there.

Bronze Member
Username: Bumpin612s

Post Number: 49
nuck

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3845
I guess I've been out of the loop. I just found out that Michael Brecker passed away 1/13/07...wow. I saw him year before last with Herbie Hancock, Roy Hargrove, Brian Blade, and John Patitucci with the "Directions in Music" tour. It was and he was fantastic. Michael left us with an incredible body of work....RIP.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5573
RIP indeed, Art.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5574
I am not certain if anyone(other than me) has heard of, or read Mordecai Richler.
Here is a complete history of the confused, hypcrytical genius of a writer.
Canadian to the core(when it suits) and writer of the world(when the world would have him).

http://archives.cbc.ca/IDD-1-68-753/arts_entertainment/mordecai_richler/

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1334
­
Thanks Art for remembering Michael Brecker in this thread. I knew he had some sort serious illness a year ago and missed the recent announcement of his death.

I always had great respect for Michael's talent on tenor sax. This respect was magnified because I knew his older brother Randy, who was equally talented on the trumpet. We were classmates at the Indiana Universary School of Music in the late sixties. At the time, Randy was top dog on jazz trumpet at the school. I was priviledged to play in a school ensemble with him.